Posted on

Gretchen Leary

This poem was written while listening to “Fantasie Impromptu” Op. 66 by Chopin. I encourage you to listen to the piece while reading this poem to fully feel the intensity of my words.

As I stand all alone
On this old wooden bridge
The cold Autumn air tousles
My long loose hair wildly
And I wrap my arms
Tightly around me

Taking in this blurry scene
Like a masterpiece
Through the eyes of Monet
As long forgotten memories
Fill the other half of me
That still lies in wait

The leaves are slowly drifting
In a pond that sits below
And those caught in the breeze
Swirling and dancing
Colors of warmth yet
So incredibly cold.

I slowly lean forward
And glance at my reflection
I close my empty eyes
To let my heart imagine

By: Gretchen Leary 2012

http://www.gretchenleary.com

View original post

Leave a Reply

