Posted on

Gretchen Leary

This was written in response to a poetry prompt. I avoid political discussions most of the time but I couldn’t resist a good challenge.

Dear Mr. President of 2013,

I hope you can understand
What I will try to convey
Because what I am about to say
Is very important to me
Please keep in mind a few things
As you make some decisions
Both big and small
That will forever change our history.

Please lead with peace-
Please love our country,
Please learn to understand
The consequences of poverty.

Please promote unity-
It’s the key to success,
Please give us peace of mind
That you are doing your best

And remember that love
Is worth more than
Any sum of money
And community success
Is stronger than
any personal victory

So whoever you are,
Whatever your name may be
No matter who wins,
All I ask is that you

View original post 8 more words

Leave a Reply

