Posted on

denniscoble

   My grandfather was a cattleman during the Great Depression.  He once chatted with me about how tough things were, during that time.  I don’t think that many are still alive today, that went through those times, but I’m sure that there are quite a few, that were children during it.

   Anyway, one phrase that Grandpa told me about during this chat was ‘room and board’.  What he was telling me, was that times were bad enough, that men came to him, seeking work, and he had little money to pay, so they stayed on as hired hands, working for their food and shelter, that was all.  Most of them came to him riding horseback, so they already had an obligations.  They had to see that their horses were fed, too, or they would soon be on foot.

   I honestly hope that I will never see those days…

View original post 39 more words

Leave a Reply

